Indelible Memories

   

Dear Friends of the Paramount and State Theatres,

It is with mixed emotions that I announce my intended future departure from the Austin Theatre Alliance due to a planned move to Dallas with my family in June of this year.

The opportunity to serve as Executive Director for the theatres has been an incredible one for me. I think it goes without saying how much I love this organization and the people involved. It was a very difficult decision.

I am very proud of what we have all accomplished together. I am particularly proud of the incredible staff and know that they are very capable of continued success moving forward. It is my sincere hope that my departure will not diminish what we have all accomplished or slow the current momentum of the organization. I hope rather that it might motivate all of us to remain committed to a mission that should always be greater than those involved.

As a Board Member of the League of Historic American Theatres, I am keenly aware of how precious the Paramount is for the city of Austin. So many other communities have long ago lost their treasured, historic theatre and with it a part of their cultural heritage. Over the years your commitment to save these historic landmarks has allowed them to remain vital pieces in the Austin arts scene.

Thanks to your generosity, we now serve over 200,000 patrons annually and bring arts education to nearly 20,000 local children. And while new skyscrapers downtown boast of being 30, 40 and even 50 stories high, the Paramount stands tall on Congress Avenue with thousands of stories of first dates, favorite shows and indelible memories. I know with your continued support, these historic venues will be here for Austin’s next generation and those beyond.

Thank you again for all that you have done to support me in this role and the theatres as a whole. I too leave with indelible memories.

Sincerely,

Ken A. Stein, Executive Director
Paramount & State Theatres

8 responses to “Indelible Memories

  1. Well, best of luck to you. I hope this means I can smoke in the theatre now.

  2. How can we even begin to imagine Austin without you?!? I’m in denial and telling myself that June will never come ….

  3. What?!?! You can’t just leave. I named my dog after you.

  4. Julie Tereshchuk

    As soon as I heard the news about Ken’s exciting new position I knew that something would have to change. Commuting between Austin and Dallas just won’t work! So, while I wish the entire family every happiness and success, my inside voice still says, ‘Please don’t go!’

  5. I’m sure Dallas has celebrities you can stalk.

  6. Wow. What a loss for Austin.

  7. That’s too bad. You made that place so wonderful. Good luck.

  8. I am just so sad about this. You are the Paramount. What will happen without you?

Leave a Reply

