But I can’t sing…

We opened our 95th season with Omara Portuondo, sweetheart of the Buena Vista Social Club.  Now introduce that show from stage with Invisiline braces in your mouth and you’ll see why I need a little drink before I take the stage.   But what an amazing show it was.   Standing ovations and encore after encore after encore…

So here is what happened back stage…

Just before the show, I met Omara.  She is lovely.  Gorgeous.  Gracious.  And moments before she took the stage to sing for you, she made me sing to her.  That’s right.  Me… singing… to her.  She wanted the audience to join her in a chorus of Deep in the Heart of Texas, but she wasn’t sure if she knew the song well enough. 

“Would you sing it to me?” she asked.
“But I cannot sing.  Really.  I am terrible,” I replied.
“Please.  For me.”

So how could I resist?  I sang it for her, before she sang if for you.   Trust me when I tell you that you got the better end of that deal.

The stars at night, are big and bright,
deep in the heart of Texas,
The prairie sky is wide and high,
deep in the heart of Texas.
The sage in bloom is like perfume,
deep in the heart of Texas,
Reminds me of, the one I love,
deep in the heart of Texas.

The coyotes wail, along the trail,
deep in the heart of Texas,
The rabbits rush, around the brush,
deep in the heart of Texas.
The cowboys cry, “Ki-yip-pee-yi,”
deep in the heart of Texas,
The dogies bawl, and bawl and bawl,
deep in the heart of Texas.

4 responses to “But I can’t sing…

  1. You are so funny.

  2. You can’t dance either.

  3. Constatino Romanoff

    courage

  4. I hope to get back to your theatre soon.

Leave a Reply

