Unfinished Business

Tonight I met Dr. Maya Angelou.  I felt like I was in the presence of royalty… and in a way, I was.  She is extraordinary.

During her presentation at the Paramount she said, “I wrote a song for Roberta Flack and I want Mr. Stein to post it to the theatre’s website.”  So I did…  not after the show, but immediately after she said that.  When Maya Angelou asks you to do something, you don’t hesitate. I got up from my seat, walked to the box office, sat at a computer and posted lyrics to the song here on my blog which links to the theatre’s website and my Facebook page.  Then I went back to my seat. 

After the show, I discovered that while I was gone, she had asked me to post two additional poems.   Were you at the show?  If so, can you tell me which poems she asked me to post?  I don’t want to dissappoint her…

One response to “Unfinished Business

  1. Ken,
    Absolutely delightful and amazing evening!!! Thank you and the Paramount for bringing Dr. Angelou to Austin.

    The two poems were “The Health-Food Diner” and “A Brave and Startling Truth” which she wrote and delivered for the 50th anniversary of the United Nations.

    janet

Leave a Reply

