Lily Tomlin is real… really she is.

lily-tomlin-wm02

Over the past couple of years, I have gotten to know Lily Tomlin at least a little bit and what strikes me as so unusual about her is that she is so real.  What I mean by that is that she is seemingly unaffected by her decades of stardom.  As far as I am concerned she is right up there with the great ones: Carol Burnett, Lucille Ball, Steve Martin, Bill Cosby… And yet when you meet her, it’s like running into an old friend.  She has my phone number and has called me a few times.  The first couple of times it happened I could barely calm down long enough to answer.  But now it’s like my next door neighbor calling to ask for a cup of sugar.

It’s not like other celebrities are mean or otherwise unapproachable, it’s just that Lily has managed to turn just being Lily into international stardom.   As I watched her perform to a full house Saturday night at the Paramount, I thought how amazing that she is just up there being Lily… being real.  And the audience can’t get enough.  She has no reason to remember me between visits to Austin, but somehow she does – remembering my daughter’s name and age and what I was doing the last time we spoke.  I would let it go to my head except that I have discovered rather than me being anything special, the one being special is Lily.

Her show being sold out also makes me want to mention what else was going on around town that same night: KUT’s Gala, Bill Cosby at UTPAC, Judy Collins at One World,  and the Symphony at the Long Center.  People always ask me if the UTPAC and the Long Center will put the Paramount out of business.  I guess we have the answer…

On a personal note, Saturday night was made all the more special by having two of my favorite women in the house:  Jody Conradt and Gail Goestenkors.  I am a big fan of Women’s College Basketball and to have two of the games greatest coaches in my theatre on one night was thrilling.  I’ve met Jody before and just adore her.   I met Gail for the first time and will now have to fight the urge to become a stalker.  Also in the house was former Florida Gator Head Coach Carol Ross.   I had to admit to Carol that I was a Gerogia fan and probably yelled terible things at her from across the arena in past years.  Now that I’ve met her, I realize my mistake.   I hope she can forgive me.  I hope to see them all again soon…

One response to “Lily Tomlin is real… really she is.

  1. I like the way you write. Lily was terrific and I love the Paramount. You are doing a good job.

Leave a Reply

