Tonight I met Debra Winger

winger-and-maclaine.jpg

I was scared to death because I have heard so many rumors about her… difficult… wild…even mean. Well, the woman I met backstage was delightful and real.  I might as well have been talking to my sister.  She made me feel that at ease.

Sometimes you meet a celebrity and the dissappointment is such a let down.  Considering one of my all-time favorite movies is Terms Of Endearment, I didn’t want to ruin the fantasy I had created about the actress who played Emma Greenway Horton.  I am happy to report that having now met both Shirley MacLaine and Debra Winger that movie remains in my list of top five.

 Speaking of movies, we gave the audience the choice to watch An Officer and A Gentleman, Terms of Endearment or Urban Cowboy.  Backstage, Debra laughed and teased me about picking such obvious choices.  “Those are like TV wallpaper and everyone has probably seen them dozens of times.”  To her credit many of her movies – even the lesser known ones – are true gems.  However, the joy of seeing one of her classics on the big screen again was too hard to resist.  The audience decided on Urban Cowboy.

Evan Smith was terrfic with his interview.  I learned a great deal watching him.  While I remain satisfied with my interview with Shirley MacLaine (first celebrity interview in my career), Evan’s preparedness reminded me that I can still do better next time.  And speaking of next time… Carol BurnettLily Tomlin? Glenn Close?  Hmmm…

2 responses to “Tonight I met Debra Winger

  1. The show was great. Thsnk you. Your intro was very funny.

  2. I like your interview with Shirley better. Deborah didn’t seem like she was having as much fun. Who is next?

Leave a Reply

