Hannah Montana vs. Martie Maguire

hannah-montana-ds104.jpg martie07.jpg owen_wilson_5447572.jpg olympia.jpg

I didn’t go to the concert.  I didn’t take my daughter.  I can barely stand the show, but my daughter loves Hannah and somehow gets the difference between Hannah Montana and Miley Cyrus which still has me confused.  I mean I undertand the whole double-identity thing for the TV show plot, but why has it carried over into the real world?

So at my age, it’s not Hannah Montana, it’s Martie Maguire for me.  If this Dixie Chick had a show, I would make it mandatory viewing for my daughter.  And now that I have gotten to know her husband, Gareth Maguire, I am even more a fan.  We had dinner tonight as  part of a fundraiser for the Nobelity Project.  Martie and Gareth were so kind to give their time to host my table.  I have gotten to know them each a little bit during visits to the theatre (most recently The Nutcracker with their two daughters) and each time I like them more… so down to earth and so in love with their little family…picture perfect and baby number three is on the way.

Also at the dinner tonight was Owen Wilson (a bit distracted if you ask me), Andrew Wilson (looked like he is boycotting shampoo and shaving cream), Willie Nelson (talked about maybe stopping by to see his friend Kris Kristofferson at the Paramount on May 17 for our Gala), and enough other celebrities to bring out a hollywood-style paparazzi line at the Four Seasons.  Guests were treated to entertainment from Pinetop Perkins, Bob Schneider, Joe Ely (who coaxed Jimmie Dale Gilmore and Butch Hancock onto the stage for an inpromptu Flatlanders reunion) and the magic of Night Court’s Harry Anderson.

 All this came after an evening with Olympia Dukakis who captivated the audience on Saturday night with a concert reading of “Rose”.  Her performance was spellbinding and I am still shocked she had any energy left after the show to come mingle with theatre donors who had gathered for a reception at the Stephen F. Austin.   She was so generous with her time and was very complimentary of the Paramount which was a perfect setting for her show.

 It was quite a weekend in Austin, but now I am off to bed…

8 responses to “Hannah Montana vs. Martie Maguire

  1. So glad to hear your nice comments about Martie. She comes off just as you describe her. Some other articles mentioned that she is currently working on a new Dixie Chicks’ album. Is that true? I hope so. There’s nothing more empowering than a Martie fiddle solo!

  2. I didn’t talk to her much about DC affairs. It sounded like Gareth may have a few movie things in the works.

  3. Still sooo upset about Owen … could you elaborate a bit about his demeanor? (Not a crazy stalker … just want him to be okay …) Thanks!

  4. Just seemed like he was going through the motions but not really engaged in the evening. I only spoke with him briefly and he seemed a little out of sorts. For what it is worth, he looked really good.

  5. PS. Yes. I hear there is a new DC album in the works.

  6. Thanks for your response! Sad that he still seems disconnected – it sounded like a nice evening for a good cause … Thanks again …

  7. Thanks for your response! It would be fantastic to see them play your theatre.

  8. owen wilson

Leave a Reply

