Well, he’s kind of normal and tall

lls_pg_013.jpg randy-kagan.jpg

Craig Ferguson seems likes a nice enough guy.  Backstage he asked for hair gel and a toothbrush.  How’s that for normal?  His stand-up is a bit more naughty than his TV show -OK, quite a bit more – but for the most part everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves.

I was backstage talking to RandyKagan (looks nothing like his photo above) who writes for Craig and who opened the show tonight.  I didn’t know if Randy wanted me to introduce him or if I needed to say anything special when I did my curtain speech.  I had been chatting with him for a few minutes when the tall guy next to him said, “Hi.  I’m Craig.  Nice to meet you.”  I had know idea.  He’s like Clark Kent – he had on a pair of glasses and suddenly the celebrity is gone. 

So after the show, a funny little thing happened.  A photographer wanted to get a picture with Craig, Randy and me.  Craig told me to stand in the middle.  I did the natural thing which was to put my arms out like we were sort of in a huddle for the picture, but as I put my arm behind Craig, a wind caught his jacket (a really nice leather one by the way) and blew it out away fromhis body for a mintue.  When the jacket fell back into place my hand was on the inside in a rather too familiar way.  So suddenly I am trying to explain why my hand is sort of closer to his skin than it really should be and all the time the photographer is taking pictures and I am not completely sure but I think there might be a rather embarrassing photo.  If so, I’ll post it and other photos from the evening when I get them.

But anyway, back to Craig being a normal guy.  Before he and Randy headed off to explore the bar at the Stephen F. Austin, we chatted for a minute about our children.  I have a six year old daughter, Craig has a six year old son and Randy has a five year old daughter.  We  shared a non-celebrity moment.  For a few mintues we were just three dads talking about our kids.   Then I think they left to go find some hookers… or maybe they just went for a drink… who knows?  I headed home to go to bed.

12 responses to “Well, he’s kind of normal and tall

  1. Yeah…I had a “non-celebrity moment” with Craig last night too….twice.

  2. Well, comments don’t get screened… but maybe I should re-think that policy.

  3. Ken,

    Just wanted to send you a closing note and thank you for bringing Craig and Randy to the Paramount. Marsha, Bill, Sasha, Francis, Wendy, Dave, the “other” Chris, and myself all had a great time.

    Although the Century Club is a little beyond my means at the moment, next season I’ll consider signing up for theatre membership at the Director or Producer level.

    Thanks again,

    Chris

  4. That would be terrific, Chris. I am glad you had a good time. It was very nice to meet you.

  5. Pingback: It Was A Great Craig For Austin, Everybody « Navel Gazing With Julie

  6. desperatewriter

    Nice to know he’s a normal guy.

    And maybe some comments should get screened. Really. Lexus Ferrari? Puh-lease.

  7. What did you think of Randy Kagan? I think he’s fricking hilarious.

  8. Randy Kagan called me a gay whore from stage…which was too funny. He was hilarious both on and off the stage.

  9. Randy Kagan has a girlfriend so I know they werent looking for hookers

  10. I’ve followed Randy Kagan for years … one of the most underrated comics. He can riff like Don Rickles combined with a palpable charm. He’s upper echelon waiting to be exposed.

  11. Randy is so funny, i am a big fan. Thank you Craig and Randy for always bringing me to the floor laughing!

  12. I think Randy is funny as Craig. Why don’t we see more of him?!

Leave a Reply

